Current Favourites- April 2017

I’M BACK, BABY!

Hello Internet Peoples! What a loooooong time it’s been since I’ve last taken to the keyboard of bloggery. I’M SO SORRY! I literally thought that it had been 1 month, maybe 2 months max since I’d last written something for you to enjoy*.  But it turns out that it was actually 1st September when I last wrote something on here… It didn’t really dawn on me that I hadn’t blogged in a while until I had an influx of people asking me “WHERE ARE THE BLOGS MAKE WITH THE BLOGS! YOU’RE A HUMANITIES STUDENT WHAT ELSE COULD YOU BE DOING WITH YOUR TIME?!”

(*enjoy is a strong word. Tolerate? Waste time reading?)

So, here I am. Apologising and typing in equal measure! I thought to ease me back into the blogging world, I’d tell you what I’m enjoying in life, just incase yeno, you missed me and you like to be nosy. ENJOY AND WELCOME BACK!

WHAT’S ON MY FACE

So, I’ve been using the MAC Studio Fix fluid for a while now (like, well over a year), and when I popped into Debenhams the other day to get my eyebrows done I rocked up to the MAC counter to buy a new bottle. However, a few minutes of chatting with the very lovely (and STUNNING) make up artist, I was informed that I had it ALL WRONG. WRONG WRONG WRONG!! Appaz tis not a good foundation for dry skin at ALL, and so she introduced me to this bad boy*…

IMG_7194

I honestly didn’t realise I was using the wrong thing until I started using this. It makes my skin look so much healthier and dewy, without going overboard on the shine factor. It just makes my complexion look so… nice? And it doesn’t gather round my nose anymore? And it’s just generally super-dee-dooper, so, I’ve been enjoying that, so I have.

[*She also introduced me to a new lipstick, but let’s just pretend I was well behaved and restrained sshhhhh…]

In addition to my wonderful new foundation, and on the other end of the scale completely, is THIS wee rascal- the Rimmel lip liner in 063 Eastend Snob (it’s poking out of the picture above, what a scamp!). I had heard people talking about this liner before as a dupe for Velvet Teddy, and while I think it works well with Velvet Teddy, I wouldn’t say they’re twins…

IMG_7192

(Rimmel on the left; Velvet Teddy on the right)

As you can see, the Rimmel liner is a lot pinkier, with even a purple undertone, whereas the lipstick is a tad more on the nude side. Being perfectly honest, I personally prefer the Rimmel- the colour looks waaaay better on me (like my lips but better!) and it’s so much nicer to apply.

WHY MY BANK BALANCE IS SAD

Ohhhhh boy. This is a biggie.

Basically, student loans came in, and…

Well…

…you know the score. I am now, once again, impoverished, after a day of living like a rich  Baroness. It was fun while it lasted!

But nonetheless, my baroness days have left me with some laaaaavely things to present to you willing few who read my rambles. Like THIS!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Chris and I went into town on Saturday and I PROMISED myself that I wasn’t going to buy anything. Three hours later, I was straining under the weight of bags thinking, that went well…

But I did find this top in Zara, and it’s undeniably adorable, right? So colourful and Spring-y!

Additionally, I did some damage in The Body Shop. Now, that’s somewhere I generally don’t go too often, but I’ve been obsessively moisturising my body recently, and was just about to run out of my Shea Butter Body Butter (which is fabulous, by the way). But my eyes just lit up when I saw they had a 50% off sale, and I got these wee rascals to try out…

 

The smell of both of these is STUNNING– I really love the Gardenia, though. If you’re near a Body Shop in the next things, just call in to sniff this body moisturiser. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

HOW I’M SMELLING

Among the lovely things I got for my birthday was an old favourite of mine- Britney Spears Midnight Fantasy. I used to LOVE this stuff so much when I was in Lower Sixth- I basically smelled like Britney had exploded on me. But it’s been so nice to wear it again; I’ve felt really nostalgic and happy (and young!).

So in short, I’m smelling good. Come and sniff me!

WHAT I’M SIPPING

I can’t stop drinking water, guys. Like, it has become an area of concern for me. I decided this year that I was going to start taking better care of myself, because when you feel good about YOU, then that positive energy bounces off and onto everyone else. So I’ve been exercising, and making a conscious effort to drink more water. And let me tell you, I feel a heck of a lot better when I do. Seriously, my mood, my skin, my sleeping pattern- EVERYTHING gets better when I drink more water.

I also can’t stop peeing, though. You win some, you lose some, eh?

MY TUMMY IS FULL OF

Porridge. Lots and lots of porridge.

I have a scary amount of porridge in my cupboard, and so to minimise money I spend on food, therefore maximising money I spend on clothes, I’ve been eating porridge round the clock. I do love it, though- breakfast for dinner is one of my favourite things!

I usually pair my porridge with syrup, cinnamon, peanut butter, and some kind of fruit. What about you guys and dolls?

THE BOOK WORM IN ME IS SALIVATING OVER

THIS! Jefferson Bethke’s It’s Not What You Think. A really interesting, easily-read little number for those curious about Christianity. It was so good I had to lend it to my friend (who informs me she is also loving it so THERE! Doubly recommended).

IMG_6503

THE LAST PHOTO I TOOK WAS

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

This is the path just beside my church. I cannot WAIT for those cherry blossom trees to fully spring into life!

BUT MY FAVOURITE PHOTO I’VE TAKEN RECENTLY, IS

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Guys, I’m a sucker for cherry blossoms. If you follow me on Instagram, you’re going to see a LOT of cherry blossoms in the next few weeks!

MY EYES ARE SQUARE BECAUSE OF…

Like I mentioned in my last favourites post, I’m not really much of a TV watcher, but recently, Chris and I have been bingeing on It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia. “Anything with Danny DeVito is worth watching” is just our couple motto, to be honest.

Additionally, I’ve been really loving the SacconeJolys vlogs, recently. Their new baby is just TOO CUTE!

MY TUMMY IS RUMBLING AT THE THOUGHT OF

Cinnamon buns. Specifically, the ones you can only find hot and toasty in Scandi countries, like this.

Hot chocolate and cinnamon buns in Oslo ☕️🇳🇴

A post shared by Amber McIntyre (@ambieeeeee01) on

(Additionally, that was a flipping good hot chocolate)

THE LAST BOOK I READ, WAS

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling. I lol’d hard at it, and if you enjoy The Office or female comedians at all, it’s worth giving a read.

SOMETHING I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO

My exams being over. YUCK.

Also, getting the new books I ordered in the post. There is nothing like getting post, am I right?!

SOMETHING I’M MISSING

More like someONE, but my sweet friend, Bekah. If you’ve stuck with these blog posts for a while, you’ll know Bekah and I met during our year abroad in France last year, and spent a good portion of our time travelling through Europe (if you didn’t know that already… you do now!). I miss her like a limb. She’s a wee dote, and she even came to visit me in January. We had the BEST time venturing around my neck of the woods.

IMG_0973

OTHER THINGS PUTTING A SMILE ON MY FACE

  • Chris’ cooking, especially the stew he made last night (HOT DAYUM, it was tasty!)
  • The sunnier weather! It’s actually not -5 here right now!
  • The longer evenings
  • “Girls Night” at the Bible Study I go to

AT THE TOP OF MY WISHLIST

I really just want Victoria’s Secret workout clothing, yeno? I understand that that is basically the most basic thing I ever could say ever, but it’s SO PRETTY.

And I believe that’s it! Thank you so much for reading this post, my lovelies- it really does mean the world to me that you’re all so sweet and supportive.

And there’s more coming reaaaaally soon, I promise!

Tell me what you guys have been loving this month, too!!

A bientôt,

Amber xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

